Alberta Carriage Driving Association

Events Coach's Corner On The Box Seat Resources Safety Photo Gallery Classified Ads

On-Line Shop


Find us on Facebook

Our Sponsors:

Doubletree Driving

Equi-Market

Ideal Harness

Patty's Pony Place


About Us

The Alberta Carriage Driving Association (ACDA) was originally called the Alberta Combined Driving Association.  The new name became effective January 1, 2001, and reflects a broadening of the Association to include all types of driving, including pleasure and recreational driving in addition to the exciting sport of combined driving. The ACDA serves members of all ages, skill levels and equine breeds.

The Association was originally formed in March of 1987 when a group of driving enthusiasts met in Innisfail and agreed to form an organization to promote combined driving as an equestrian sport.  By the end of the year, bylaws were formally approved and the Association was registered as a provincial non-profit corporation.  Among the founding members were Al Ridden, Doris Jacobi, Herb Coates and Hazel Sorensen, several of whom remain active in the Association today.

The first two chapters were the Klondike Chapter in the Edmonton area and the Chinook Chapter in the Olds area. Today there are eight chapters representing most regions of the province, with each chapter organizing a wide variety of activities. These range from beginner's driving clinics through to pleasure shows and CDEs, fun drives and cutter rallies in the country.

A Board, consisting of representatives from each of the chapters, directs the ACDA.  Members who participate in the Association or chapter activities are required to become members of the Alberta Equestrian Federation.

Whether you are an accomplished driver, or a novice wanting to learn to drive for fun, the ACDA welcomes you!

Executive 2017

President

Jay Mills
403-637-2410
president@albertadriving-acda.ca

Vice President

Iris Davies
780-847-2677
vpresident@albertadriving-acda.ca

Secretary

Patty Carley
403-346-2146
secretary@albertadriving-acda.ca

Treasurer

Brenda Glowinski
780-968-0018
treasurer@albertadriving-acda.ca


Board of Directors 2017

Chinook

Gordon Fulton
403-224-3753
gsfulton@telusplanet.net

Kathy Cambbell
403-358-9395
kantique@xplornet.com

Coulee Winds

Doug Orr
403-328-3617
doug.orr@uleth.ca

Lorraine Hill
403-328-3617
lohill@shockware.com

East West

Denise MacDonald
780-853-0305
dmacdonald@vermilion.ca

Iris Davies
780-847-2677
vpresident@albertadriving-acda.ca

Foothills

Cathy Summerscales
403-226-6064
bcsummer@icloud.com

Kathleen Winfield
403-931-0389 winfieldkj@gmail.com

Klondike

Tamara Chmilar
780-992-9313
tamara_chmilar@hotmail.com

Cyndie Crook
780-968-2338
cyndie.crook@gmail.com

Northern Lights

Brenda Glowinski
780-968-0018
treasurer@albertadriving-acda.ca

Kerry Unrau
780-779-1573
k.unrau@yahoo.com

Peace Country

Ed Pimm
780-338-2285
espimm@abnorth.com


Stone Bridge

Jay Mills
403-637-2410
president@albertadriving-acda.ca

Jeff Orton
403-995-0055
ortonjeff@equi-market.com



Patty's Pony Place Ideal Harness Doubletree Driving Find Us on Facebook Glowinski Miniature Horse Supplies Equi-Market